Shared Ground

Music by Bach and Alec Roth
Saturday 20 May 2017 7.30pm
Wimborne Minster

Bach • Komm, Jesu, komm BWV 230
Bach • Fürchte dich nicht BWV 228
Bach • Partita for solo violin No 3 in E BWV 1006
Roth • Shared Ground
Roth • Ponticelli

Violin Kate Turnbull

Tickets £14 nave, £10 side aisles, £2 under 18.
Available online, from the Box Office
or from
Square Records, 14 High Street, Wimborne Minster, BH21 1HU Tel: 01202 883203

A concert which features two of Bach’s motets – pieces which are considered by Sir John Eliot Gardiner to be among his most perfect works. In the six short pieces of Shared Ground (2006), Vikram Seth’s evocative words modelled on poems by George Herbert are set by Alec Roth in his richly expressive and lyrical tonal idiom and, echoing the Bach, are for double choir. Interwoven through the programme are works for solo violin by Bach and Alec Roth, performed by Kate Turnbull of Kokoro, the new music ensemble of the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra.

A concert in association with: